Completing ICM Dornier Do 17Z-2 – The End of the Beginning?

Day 402

Saturday April 1, 2023

Has ICM Dornier Do 17Z-2 been completed on time?

Anticipation…


Monday 27 March

Day minus five…

This is Monday morning shot…

As you can see the first upper surfaces camouflage was airbrushed.

Leftover Airfix acrylic paint worked well, mixed with my homemade thinner and Liquitex clear gloss acrylic paint, giving the Do 17Z-2 a nice sheen.

The damage done while handling the model kit during the airbrush session was repaired yesterday. Nothing to write home about.

I should remember that handling a large model kit squeezed into my spray booth is always a delicate operation.

Templates were made today using the instructions.

I printed scaled copies that I then modified using Paint.

After a few trials and errors… 🤔


Tuesday 28 March

Day minus four…

I am experimenting with Frisket Film to mask some large upper surfaces.

The tail templates were used as guides to cut out the film.

Most of the masking has been done.

However I needed some reference to complete the camouflage for the nose.

Source below

https://modelingmadness.com/review/axis/luft/weber17.htm

I will used artistic license…

I free-handed some templates for the tail and I completed the masking.

After lunch, I decided it was time to airbrush the upper surfaces. I used the same recipe: a mixture of Airfix leftover paint, Liquitex clear gloss acrylic and homemade thinner.

However there was this problem… I had used the wrong Airfix color! In fact the same shade of green.

Oh well…

It’s right then and there that I called it a day…

Did I really call it a day? Of course I didn’t. I mixed another batch and voilà le résultat!

I still don’t know if I will be able to make the deadline I have set for April 1st which is my granddaughter’s birthday party. Luckily the Dornier is not for her, but for my brother whose birthday is next January.

The camouflage now completed, all the masking tape was removed carefully after supper.

Then I really called it a day when I saw this gap!


Wednesday 29 March

Day minus three…

How to fix that gap without creating a mess like I sometimes do when fixing things? The gap should have been obvious before painting. I even had a warning in a review I had read.

https://modelingmadness.com/review/axis/luft/do/lyle17.htm

The fuselage seam was fairly easy to deal with, but step #24 has you add the first piece of transparent plastic to the nose, a large panel under the chin. It was here that the first fit problem cropped up – a very noticeable step where the starboard “cheek” of the fuselage jutted out wider than the glass. If it was the other way around I could build the fuselage up with putty or scrap plastic, but alas, no dice. There’s no bending the brittle transparent plastic, so I scored the fuselage plastic and then bent the “cheek” inwards by hand to bring it into alignment.

Oh well 🤣.

I have reached 99.9% of my upload allowance which will leave me no other choice than to migrate to My Forgotten Hobby VII in the very near future.


Thursday 30 March

Day minus two…

The gap was fixed yesterday and “machine guns” were glued using Liquitex clear gloss acrylic instead of Contacta Clear.

Did I say “machine guns”? On another note I went to JacHobby this morning…

…to pick up the Lancaster I had ordered online last week.

It’s huge!

Going back to the Dornier, the fragile pitot tube was added and I started adding decals. I also replaced the 20mm cannons I had installed instead of machine guns.

Don’t ask me why I did this. Sadly no photos can be shown since I have reached my 3 gigabyte upload limit.


Friday 31 March

Day minus one…

I have come a long way since January haven’t I? If you have been following My Forgotten Hobby VI that is…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

More decals were added this morning. They release from the backing very slowly unlike the Ju 88 decals. I used hot water and a drop of dishwashing soap. You have to work slowly, one decal at the time, because they adhere quickly and are difficult to be repositioned afterwards. A wet paintbrush here is a must.


Saturday 1 April

D-Day…?

My Forgotten Hobby VI – The Beginning of the End?

Leave a comment